Catalog/Articles PCL Website

Board of Directors

Providence Community Library is governed by a Board of Directors consisting of a maximum of 25 Directors. Nine members of the Board serve as representatives of the Friends organizations of each of PCL’s nine neighborhood libraries. The Mayor of Providence appoints three members to the Board, two of whom are members of the community and one of whom is a member of the Mayor’s staff. The City Council appoints two community members to the Board. The Governor of Rhode Island appoints one community member. The PCL staff elects one representative to the Board. Lastly, nine members are elected by the Board of Directors. The Board elects four of its members to be officers.

Board meetings are held monthly (except for the month of August) and are conducted in accordance with the requirements of the Open Meeting Law of Rhode Island. The Annual Meeting takes place in September.

Board of Directors (2017-2018)

Cyndie Wilmot (Friends of Olneyville representative), President

Matthew Lawrence (at-large), Vice President

Joan Dagle (Friends of Washington Park Representative), Secretary

Ellen Schwartz (at-large), Treasurer

Tony Aguilar (at-large)

Kendra Brewster (at-large)

Elena Chiaradio (at-large)

Avital Chatto (at-large)

Deborah Del Gais (Friends of Mt. Pleasant representative)

Margaret Gardner (Friends of Rochambeau representative)

Althea Graves (Friends of Smith Hill representative)

Judanne Hamidzada (Staff representative)

Patience Landford (Mayor's staff representative)

Rochelle Lee (City Council appointee)

Patricia Raub (Friends of Wanskuck representative)

Deborah Schimberg (Friends of Knight Memorial representative)

Pam Vogel (Governor's representative)

Ken Wise (Friends of Fox Point representative)