Databases

courtesy of AskRI.org

Career Center @ Homework Help RI

EBSCO
an extensive list of databases on a variety of topics

HeritageQuest at Home
Unique, growing collection of research materials for tracing family history and American culture; includes original page images from over 25,000 books and the entire U.S. Federal Census

HeritageQuest at a Library

Homework Help RI
A live tutor service for students in grades 4-12 as well as providing adults help with citizenship and careers.

LearningExpress
Practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life.

Mãngo Languages
An online language-learning system teaching actual conversation skills for a wide variety of languages like Spanish, Portuguese, Russian, German, Mandarin Chinese, Italian & more.

ReferenceUSA: US Businesses
(Ocean State Libraries or HELIN library card number required)
Comprehensive directory of business listings. This database of 14 millions U.S. businesses contains verified, accurate data and is updated monthly. This is the only business database enhanced with more than 20 million phone calls per year. Information includes: business name, executive name, business type, sales volume, employee size, year established, and more.

World Book
Multi-media World Book Encyclopedia, a Reference Library with primary resources from US History and Political Science and Law, plus a Spanish language encyclopedia.

access World Book with library card
(for some Verizon FIOS customers and out-of-state Rhode Islanders)

Other Resources

Ocean State Libraries E-zone
Download free audio books, music & videos to your computer, ipod, or other mp3 devices.